A Mayoral Lesson in Dirty Talk

25Jan08

detroit mayorHot-ass text messages found in Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick‘s cell phone refute testimony he made under oath denying an affair with his top aide, the Associated Press reported.

If convicted for lying under oath, Kilpatrick could face up to 15 years in prison.

Kilpatrick (who was, by the way, married at the time) and his top aide, Christine Beatty, testified last summer in a police whistle-blower lawsuit (two officers were awarded $6.5 million in that case for unlawful firing-the lawsuit was against the city and Kilpatrick), denying they had a romantic relationship. The Free Press pored over about 14,000 text messages, however, and a different story became unearthed. A brief sampling (pay attention, Romeos):

“I’m madly in love with you,” Kilpatrick wrote on Oct. 3, 2002.

“I hope you feel that way for a long time,” Beatty replied. “In case you haven’t noticed, I am madly in love with you, too!”

Kilpatrick: “I’ve been dreaming all day about having you all to myself for 3 days. Relaxing, laughing, talking, sleeping and making love.”

Then consider a quote from his testimony: “I think it was pretty demoralizing to her—you have to know her—but it’s demoralizing to me as well,” the mayor said. “My mother is a congresswoman. There have always been strong women around me. My aunt is a state legislator. I think it’s absurd to assert that every woman that works with a man is a whore.” Rrrrriiiiight.

Kilpatrick’s excuse for this strange flip-flopping? In a statement made Wednesday, the Mayor said the messages “reflect a very difficult period in my personal life.”



No Responses Yet to “A Mayoral Lesson in Dirty Talk”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

